Let’s talk about love

by akishchuk

Image

That’s the little of a Celine Dion album. You know you love it.

I can’t get the The Nance out of my head. I think I’m over it and it appears again, with flashing moments of brilliance and intensity.

The scene of the morning after was just so beautiful.

Let’s forget for a moment that we witnessed full frontal nudity in the presence of you parents and ponder on the magnificence of what was developing on in front of our eyes.

Mainly I remember their embraces and kisses. Whereas I get thoroughly annoyed at heterosexual PDA, I find myself nearly applauding every time I see two men showing their affections to the world. I do so hate generalizations, but I feel I might be right about this one and besides it makes me happy, so I’ll allow it:

You see, a man’s love is not like a woman’s. When a man decides to love (I have always felt they had some sort of decision to make, which just serves to make it so much more endearing), he does so purely and without complications. It is a tenderness so intense, it is just short of violent. But it is so, oh! So, so true. A man in love is a man possessed, but willingly, happily so. It is true happiness, that shines and glows and erases all shadows of doubt, all fear of tomorrow and any day after that.

You see, one man in love is enough beauty for days. Put two of them together and, well, I am simply in pure, joyful awe.

 

Do you think Chauncy loved Ned? If he didn’t I wonder why he cried so intensely near the end. Maybe he was simply crushed by the absence from his life of such a good person. I also wonder what made it so clear that Ned was a good person, an angel of some sorts. Did you feel that way as well? Like he could do no wrong? Maybe it was because he said his wife deserved to be with someone who loved her, maybe it was his complete and undemanding devotion to Chauncy. Maybe it was just his always so high spirits. I wish I could have known these people. Is that the mark of a great play?

 

The breakup scene was just so excruciating.

It lasted long because breakups usually do (I’m permitting another generalization). Neither ever wants to leave, neither is ever sure who should be to one to. It goes on and on until your eyes grown wide with the realization that despite all that has happened and what it has led to, what you know is inevitable, you were still coveting, somewhere hidden, where the darkness couldn’t go, a glimmer of hope, that fades at that exact moment. That’s when everything gets dark and you, like Chauncy did, hurl yourself towards the other, only to feel the pain that there is nothing left.

 

The scenes in my head are happy endings.

I like to think – and I believe I am not alone – that Ned comes back and he is still the forgiving angel that he was. It helps that he learns Chauncy’s sacrifice for him. He doesn’t tell him he knows until they get into a fight during which Chauncy, in a manifestation of his own insecurities, claims Ned thinks he is a horrible person, incapable of doing anything for others. Ned says something like “I don’t think someone who would sacrifice so much just to protect an ex-lover from the cops can be qualified as a horrible person”. They make up and it’s lovely and sort of corny and they kiss and I get the urge to applaud.

 

The end. 

